Sunday, April 15, 2012

Ethiopians won the 2012 Rotterdam Marathon with Adhane took the men's title and Tiki Gelana won in women's race in WL and new CR

Tiki Gelana


Yemane Adhane of Ethiopia won the 32nd ABN AMRO Rotterdam Marathon this morning in 2:04:48 which was shy of the old course record of 2:04:27 set in 2009 by a thin 22-second margin and making him the 10th fastest marathoner in history.
Favourite Moses Mosop of Kenya, the 2nd fastest marathon runner (2:03:06 Boston 2011) in history under no conditions finished 3rd in 2:05:03

Compatriot Tiki Gelana won the women's title in 2:18:58 beating the 14-year old course record of 2:21:47 set by Tegla Loroupe of Kenya, producing the world's fastest time of the year so far and becoming the 4th fastest woman marathon runner all time behind Paula Radcliffe (GBR) (2:15:25), Liliya Shobukhova (RUS) (2:18:20) and Catherine N'dereba (KEN) (2:18:47)


1) 2:04:48 (PB) - Yemane Adhane (ETH)
2) 2:04:50 (PB) - Getu Feleke (ETH)
3) 2:05:03 - Moses Mosop (KEN)

Women :
1) 2:18:58 (PB)(CR) (WL) - Tiki Gelana (ETH)
2) 2:23:44 (NR) (PB) - Valeria Straneo (ITA)

3)2:25:48 - Merima Hasen (ETH)

No comments:

Post a Comment