Thursday, May 17, 2012

Ethiopian Olympic Marathon squad named but without Tsegay Kebede

Prominent Ethiopian marathon runner Tsegaye Kebede, 25, marathon bronze medallist at last Olympics in Beijing 2008, Worlds bronze medallist in 2009 and winner at London 2010 and Fukuoka (2009  PB 2:05:18) is omitted from the Ethiopian Olympic marathon team announced yesterday. Also missing from the list are Gebre Gebremariam who finished 3rd at 2011 Boston with a PB of 2:04:53 (not ratified by IAAF) and running legend Haile Gebrselassie as expected.

Leading the men's squad will be the deserving up-n-coming 21-year old  Ayele Abshero who ran the fastest marathon of the season when he clocked an astonishing World Leading time of  2:04:23 at Dubai last January in his  only marathon race he has ran so far, making him the 4th fastest ever and the fastest debut in history in the record of IAAF (Boston excluded).

The other 2 spots in the men's category were taken up by Dino Sefir, 24, who has only ran 3 marathons in his career with 2:20:30, 2:10:33 and  2:04:50 (PB) in Dubai 2012 and Getu Feleke, 26, who finished 2nd in Rotterdam this year in 2:04:50 (PB), however the winning countryman Yemane Tsegay, who beat him to 2nd place in Rotterdam by 2 seconds is not in the team.

The women's squad is made up of Tiki Gelana, 25, (PB 2:18:58 [NR] Rotterdam 2012),  Asselefech Mergia (PB 2:19:31 Dubai ) and Mare Dibaba (PB 2:19.52)

The Ethiopian Olympic marathon squad:
Men :
Ayele Abshero (2:04.23), Dino Sefer (2:04.50), Getu Feleke (2:04.50)
Reserves : Markos Geneti (2:04.54), Tadese Tola (2:05.10) 

Tiki Gelana (2:18.58), Asselefech Mergia (2:19.31), Mare Dibaba (2:19.52)
Reserves: Bezunesh Bekele (2:20.30), Tirfi Tsegaye (2:21.40) 

1 comment:

  1. Kenya vs Ethiopia in London Olympics over 42.195km
    Wilson Kipsang (2:03:42) Moses Mosop (2:03:06) Abel Kirui (2:05:04)- (KEN)
    Ayele Abshero (2:04.23) Dino Sefer (2:04.50) Getu Feleke (2:04.50)- (ETH)

    Mary Keitany(2:18:37) Edna Kiplagat (2:19:50) Priscah Jeptoo (2:20:14)- (KEN)
    Tiki Gelana (2:18.58) Asselefech Mergia (2:19.31) Mare Dibaba (2:19.52)- (ETH)