Friday, January 27, 2012

2:04:23 - Ayele Abshero of Ethiopia set new course record in his debut at Dubai Marathon this morning

21-year old Ayele Abshero of Ethiopia, the 2009 World Junior Cross Country Champion, became a hero when he won the Standard Chartered Dubai Marathon 2012 in his debut this morning in a new course record time of 2:04:23, breaking the old course record of 2:04:53 set by countryman and 3-time winner Haile Gebrselassie in 2008.

This is the second fastest marathon debut time in history behind the 2:03:06 clocked by Moses Mosop of Kenya at the Boston Marathon last year 28 April, however this time is not ratified by IAAF due to elevation drop and point-t0-point measurements of the Boston course.

The 2:04:23 credential also makes him the 6th fastest marathoner in history regardless of conditions behind :
Geoffrey Mutai (2:03:02 Boston 2011), Moses Mosop (2:03:06 Boston 2011), Patrick Makau (2:03:38 WR Berlin 2011), Wilson Kipsang (2:03:42 Frankfurt 2011) and Haile Gebrselassie (2:03:59 Berlin 2008) and the 4th fastest in the eyes of IAAF

The Ethiopians made a 1-2-3 sweep when compatriots Dino Kemal and Markos Geneti finished in 2nd and 3rd placings in remarkable times of 2:04:50 and 2:04:54 respectively, giving Ethiopia a morale-boosting victory over arch rival Kenya.

The Ethiopian ladies also joined their men's domination and jubilation when defending champion Aselefech Medesa successfully retained her title in 2:19:31 with debutant Lucy Kabu of Kenya finished second in 2:19:34 and another Ethiopian Mare Dibaba 2:19:52 in third with all three in close finish in superb sub 20 minutes.

1) 2:04:23 (CR) - Ayele Abshero (ETH) - won USD250,000
2) 2:04:50 - Dino Kemal (ETH) ---------- won USD100,000
3) 2:04:54 - Markos Geneti (ETH) ------ won USD50,000

1) 2:19:31 - Aselefech Medesa (ETH) - won USD250,000
2) 2:19:34 - Lucy Kabuu (KEN) -------- won USD100,000
3) 2:19:52 - Mare Dibaba (ETH) ------- won USD50,000

No comments:

Post a Comment